Home > Domino Grey, Dynamics Plus says:, Random Musings > Number One Music is a scam

Number One Music is a scam

Number One Music is a scam

Number One Music is a Scam

Try to keep your music ambitions based in reality

As an independent artist and label owner, I’m always looking for new avenues to share/promote/push my music, I am always keen on using various profile sites to spread the word. Years ago, I joined NumberOneMusic and created a profile. I also registered at LastFM, DMusic and iSound all around the same time so NumberOneMusic was pretty much lost in the shuffle. At that point, I think MySpace was the big site for musicians looking to gain fans and attention. I made a little bit of noise on LastFM, but noticed a sudden spike of activity on NumberOneMusic.

I started getting TONS of FANS every day. I also got a huge amount of comments and people sharing their email addresses with me. Nice! The only thing that concerned me is that my music was pretty much ‘underground’ and really shouldn’t be getting this much love from the masses. I may have been a dreamer back then, but I was also self-aware enough to know I made niche music.

I started to doubt my results when I didn’t see any traffic leaving the site to follow my links. I figured the people on NumberOneMusic STAYED on NumberOneMusic and didn’t migrate off site- even to follow an artist they are supposed to be a die-hard fan of.

Fast forward to 2010. I kept hearing about ReverbNation and decided to join up. Reverb has a section to link all your social networking sites- so I Googled myself to find all the hubs and drop them in one place. I found my NumberOneMusic profile and signed back in. I checked out my account. I found the first hints of a scam in progress, but didn’t think it could be true.

1. I saw that I had about 2,000 fan email addresses. Pretty much all of them were gathered during my free trial period and almost none after. I thought, maybe when you join, you get put on the front page so your exposure is greater.

2. I saw tons of music plays for that period and also a complete drop off after my trial ended. I figured they weren’t showing my profile on their genre-specific pages so I’m the one that’s lost in the shuffle now.

3. I paid around $15 bucks to reactivate my account for a month in order to get access to those email addresses. By then, I had my own newsletter service (the somewhat pricey Constant Contact) and wanted to export them to my own data bank. I did.

4. Upon reactivation, the attention exploded again: tons of emails, comments and attention. Wow. It seemed too good to be true. I checked out all the genre pages and didn’t see my stuff listed. I checked the front page…nope. I wondered how the hell everyone knew I was back to being active on their site again.

5. In a rash move, I signed up for six months (about $69.00USD). At this time I was doing other social networking campaigns so NumberOneMusic didn’t stick out in my mind so much. It was bothering me that all the other pitches had less activity, but you could trace the trail of bread crumbs back to my promotional campaign. I decided to look into NumberOneMusic more closely.

6. I sent an email blast to my new NumberOneMusic email list and checked the results. It was 80% bounced (no person or active email account at the other end) 18% SPAM and 2% who knows. I thought that was weird. Why would you sign up as a fan and suddenly go cold? Something smells fishy in Demark (Russia more like, but hold on a second).

7. After doing some web searches about their company, I found an address for an empty suite in Manhattan New York registered under the same Russian names listed as programmers on their site. I checked into their accounting and they were using 2CO (A business like Paypal so you understand), which I also use for some of my business transactions. I called and 2CO listed them as a new account so it seems every few months they switch money handlers. I’m not sure who they are with now, but their jumping around is not a good sign.

8. I did a plain Google search for reviews and feedback and found TONS of musicians echoing my experience. I would love to live off the hope that there is some chance that, oh 100s of musicians are wrong and I’m really a brilliant artist on this one website and I should keep u$ing it.

9. I sent NumberOneMusic a long letter explaining my concerns and wanted a refund for the six months. In 1 hour they deleted my account (never mind the 1 month trial that I was still in) and any reference to my artist name on their site. Ouch.

The reason this is all coming up now, is that on my ReverbNation site, which gets descent activity, has shown a spike in fan comments. Those comments are glowing and suggest that I use NumberOneMusic for more exposure. Wow. Here we go again. So apparently NumberOneMusic is up to their old tricks again. Musicians beware.

Let’s talk seriously and answer a few questions before you ask them.

How Good Are You?

As a musician you need to have a sobering view of your own music and understand your genre and fan base and the reality of how well your music is likely to be received. If you are out of touch with the world at large and choose to live inside your own head, where you are brilliant and talented and the rest of the world is just too dumb to realize your genius, I don’t know what to say.

How Should I Rate My Music and Potential?

This is an ongoing process that is reflected by other people’s reaction to your music. There must be SOME SORT of reaction you hoped to elicit- from joyous frolicking to thoughtful beard scratching to solemn brooding. The question is: does your music cause that? That’s the only gauge you need.

How Do I Get More Meaningful Fans?

Meaningful is the question since anyone can amass the things that ‘fans do’ without having actual fans doing it. That means LIKES on Facebook, friends on MySpace or followers on Twitter. All those stats and numbers sound great, but in reality you want SUPPORTERS, not fans. You want to attract people that HELP your music move forward. This is achieved by sharing an experience to create an experience.

I don’t lean on terms like ‘enjoy’ or ‘Good Music’ since it doesn’t really make a difference in the overall scheme of things. You want to foster a connection between your music and the people listening to it. Either they ‘feel it’ or they don’t. Either you put your feelings into your music or you don’t. I know many musicians/producers who hope to create a personal impression by using an impersonal technical approach. You can’t argue someone into liking a song, but you can aggressively share your music- as opposed to waiting to be discovered. That’s the side of the MUSIC Business most artists want to pretend doesn’t exist- or that they don’t need to worry about. Let the label handle that stuff.

This is how scam sites like NumberOneMusic.com stay in business. They prey on your inflated ego and know that you want to create an entire career off the merit of how good your artistry is. The real world doesn’t work that way. Never has and never will. In these times, flattery will still get you everywhere and the quickest way to an artists pocket is to tell them they are going to be a star. Number One Music is using bots, clever programming and cheap hired help to tell you that you are great. Don’t fall for it. Its okay (and even sensible) to pay for exposure. Among millions of artists, the difference between Musician A and Musician B might be the difference of who is the most $erious.

This means you are willing to INVEST in yourself. Just be aware that every penny spent, is not a penny sent wisely. Earn your accolades by truly being talented and expressing your creativity. Find out by sharing yourself with potential fans. Do your shows, make your appearances, hand out your CDs and talk to the people you encounter. Become who you hope to be and live an artistic life. Don’t hide behind a computer screen and bank on a viable career being something you can download.

Let the internet be a reflection of what you have accomplished in the real world. Count your fans as the number of people who have been inspired by you- to support your aims and goals as an artist.

Lastly, don’t be confused by a few “success” stories. Not everything is black or white. Many of these sites that sell beats or offer tons of exposure for cheap offer some true avenues for minimal success. If they can fool you, why can’t they fool someone who wants to use the service for legitimate reasons? Test your results and motivate you “fans” into action. If you can do that; you have an engine worth using.

Last thoughts are from the wise Griffin Avid:

Promotion is active.
Sharing is inactive.
Promoting means you are doing something MANY TIMES.
Sharing is doing something once.

Promotion means I have to say no to avoid your pitch.
Sharing means I have to say yes to hear your pitch.

Promotion = Click to Close
Sharing = Click to open

A true sales pitch is concerned with presenting the AD in front of an interested audience. You want some sort of filter. You want traffic that makes sense, not just numbers.
That’s why certain commercials come on at certain times, during certain shows. And the same company has different commercials for the same product. You (if you’re serious) would need to understand this and apply it to your own attempts.

It’s not easy to corral traffic, or basically create/develop a customer/subscriber list. Anyone who has done it monetizes or controls what their base sees. So you are never able to randomly pitch to them. So, you have to contact that blog owner, get in touch with that DJ/host, join or somehow reach out to the people that matter.

Ask yourself the serious question: Am I going after props or profit? Am I chasing Dreams or Dollars? Am I looking to be COMPENSATED for my artistry or looking for a short-cut? I say: if it’s easy to do, it probably aint worth doing.

Stay smart and productive.

 

————-

 

Long as we’re here, check out another post with some swarmy sites and You Tube stuck in the middle.

  1. moses
    July 5, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    I would agree with you, had the same exp on number one music.. don’t use credit cards on the net thats why I’ve never paid for their deal……

  2. September 3, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    I had a pro account briefly at N1M just to ‘see’. Well, I saw alright. I got a lot of bogus email addresses, strangely odd comments and ‘lots’ of ‘plays’ without promotion of any kind. Once my ‘pro’ account lapsed, that all stopped abruptly. In the years since I’ve joined, I can honestly say I’ve only ever received one legitimate email from that site and that was about a month ago from an A&R rep looking to sign and/or manage artists. I also suspect that that A&R rep just went through the roster of artists on the site and did a mass mailing. Save your money and choose a real site with real listeners like Broadjam or ReverbNation. Or, take the money you were thinking of using for N1M and self-publish your material through CDBaby to iTunes, Amazon, eMusic and other name brand sites where you will receive real plays (and purchases) from real people. Of course, you will still have to promote your music to get those plays and purchases.

    • September 4, 2012 at 12:01 am

      So true. There’s just no easy way to build a foundation of support. Thanks for the comment and thanks for the heads up about Broadjam.

    • Anonymous
      September 9, 2014 at 1:52 pm

      where did your money go you spent for the Numberonemusic-Membership? Could you easily cancel your account and stop the untrusty payment from your bank account after knowing that this site is definetely a scam??

      • September 10, 2014 at 6:44 am

        Where did the money go? Other than the privilege of membership, no where really. When I purchase from sites like this, I tend to pay one-time payments of a fixed amount. I think N1M was like $99 for 6 or 12 months. I never set up recurring subscriptions for things like that. I also always wait out the entire period just to see if things work out. Some things you can’t rush and I wanted to make sure I gave the site the full amount of time that I paid for. Note, any money you pay to a site like this doesn’t go for extras. It just goes for the membership privilege. If you want to submit music for evaluation or other purposes, that costs extra.

  3. December 22, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Thanks for posting this! I just got a comment on ReverbNation suggesting that I use them. It didn’t sound right to me, and a quick search lead me here!

  4. January 26, 2013 at 6:26 am

    I wonder why you called this blog, “Number One Music is a
    scam The Dynamic Universe Blog”. In any event . I personally loved the post!
    Thanks for the post-Alicia

  5. January 26, 2013 at 6:33 am

    Alicia: The blog POST is called Number one music…The Dynamic Universe part is just the name of my blog. Not the name of the post. Thanks for reading. It’s probably is just listed that way wherever you found the link.

    • March 1, 2013 at 12:23 pm

      Alicia, can you email me? I’d love to learn more about what you do as a music promoter. I really liked what I read in your blog; very wise.

  6. January 26, 2013 at 6:34 am

    Oh and just yesterday I got another NEW FAN INTRODUCTION message on ReverbNation. He goes on to say how he loves my music and that his cousin got lots of new fans by using numberonemusic and that I should try it. Lolz

  7. Its bogus
    March 16, 2013 at 10:55 am

    If you do a google search on the email addresses and names of the people that supposedly signed up to your mailing list, you will find that it truly is bogus. A Scam. Some of the people on my mailing list were Deceased, Some were high profile lawyers and congressmen. Its unbelievable.. to think this site could have been a cool way to promote your music, instead it’s just a scam. BEWARE

    • March 16, 2013 at 5:08 pm

      It’s truly a damn shame and so bad when scam artists prey on talent.

  8. March 24, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    Thank you for this article. I told my friend about numberonemusic and we got the same email reply from a different email address…suspect!!! So I found you article and reall like your tips as a.promoter.
    LA CAt

    • Anonymous
      September 14, 2014 at 8:01 pm

      yes I’m currently being scammed then, however, when the trial runs out so does the music being played on there, so thats amazing to find this article, thanks so much for the insight

  9. Joel
    April 14, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    This website is a complete SCAM run by BOTS!!!!! I have proof in my e-mail inbox of two separate e-mails sent to me, from two different e-mail address, but EXACTLY the same message inside word for word. I’ve noticed some fishy things with the website, and had my doubts, but now i have real PROOF!!! Don’t be fooled!!!! AVOID THIS SITE!!!!!

  10. Anonymous
    July 30, 2013 at 11:39 am

    WOW I should have done search before I joined this site. I figure out it maybe a scam by exporting the emails and add them to my Facebook but as the fans accept me I notice all of the fans from a world the world are mutual friends on FB and on there timeline they all have the same last updated picture on the same date. SO Please Stay away from this Site.

  11. September 8, 2013 at 8:04 am

    Yep, this site is a scam! My band has a policy of not paying for online promotion sites – we only use free exposure and then invite traffic to our website. We had a free account with N1M which has had no traffic since our ‘trial period’ expired. Recently we had a very flattering email from a ‘fan’ called Denis Khorev who wanted to buy one of our songs through N1M (which of course you can only do if you pay for a premium service) I was a little suspicious and googled his name – turns out he is the registered name for N1M domain in Russia!
    Please be realistic about your chances of instant fame – do gigs, get fans, get genuine Facebook ‘likes’ and enjoy your music – Sadly there are always sharks around who will try to exploit your dreams – try not to feed them!

    • rick
      December 7, 2013 at 1:20 pm

      Wow I just got an email from Denis Khorev today. So I decided to do some research and it led me to your comment. Crazy. the only difference is he asked for my link to cdbaby or iTunes. This is definitely a scam. I am glad I was smart enough to do some checking. Thank you.

      • December 8, 2013 at 7:15 am

        It’s a shame we have to swerve around snakes and scoundrels but always worth checking – glad you spotted it in time – good luck with your music

    • J
      October 15, 2014 at 9:01 pm

      I’ve gotten 3 emails from “Denis Khorev”

      It got pretty obvious that it was a scam

      Also, after being suspicious for a while, I emailed one back asking “email me back if this is a legit email”

      No response

  12. Anonymous
    October 1, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    Thanks for the heads up, valuable info. I was almost sucker in as well.

  13. Anonymous
    October 5, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    So glad I found this before acting on impulse to subscribe. Thanks for this!

  14. Anonymous
    November 14, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    I did join Number One Music about 4 days ago. The amazing thing is that a new “fan” recommended it to me (never heard about them before) she wrote to me that her brother was real happy for using them… got what a shity world out there haha! I had a bad feeling already from the second day… too good to be true!! thanks for clearing it up for me!! hugz from Copenhagen :-)

    • November 18, 2013 at 5:50 am

      Oh yes, they are using ReverbNation to promote their hustle.
      Always a new fan with a message that includes the idea to join numberonemusic.
      Sad.

  15. December 2, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    My ‘new ReverbNation fan’ Glenna Bova directed me to N1m. Reviewed my ‘Awesome’ song without even listening to it. Gifted wee thing, ain’t she. Another Ego Massage site is Radio Airplay (formerly Jango). (WWW should be renamed Wild West Web; full of snake oil salesmen.)
    Cheers from Scotland

    Newbigging

    • December 2, 2013 at 2:00 pm

      Please break down your thoughts on Jango.

      • December 27, 2013 at 3:45 pm

        Hello Guys,

        Re Jango/ Airplay; got 163 fans & fans email addresses = No sales via them and only one reply to emails sent. Unable to track any of my fans. Some positive comments were gibberish. Most Airplay users don’t know they have their own mailbox so sending personal messages a waste of time. I even set up a free dowload album from Bandcamp – called it FanJango – not one person even looked. So whether legitimate or bogus, for me, it was merely Ego Massage and a waste of my dwindling money.

        There are many genuine users (ie me and my niece) just suspicious of some of my fan messages & comments. Seemed designed to keep me forking out my cash for no financial return.

        Finally; does anyone think someone who uses a site which advertises “Free Music” is really into puchasing our songs.

        (Sorry about delay in replying, first time i’ve been back since I posted and never received your (DM) reply).

        Cheers for now,

        Newbigging

      • December 27, 2013 at 4:21 pm

        That’s interesting because I accept the new definition of ‘internet fan’. I’m sure that person is “liking” and “Fanning” numerous artists. I think that nod of attention was spur of the moment and a quick decision and not really a statement of life-long devotion to any particular artist. My MySpace account became a haven of SPAM so eventually you stop checking. I’m sure EVERY band they follow or fan sends bulletins and press releases. Soundcloud is the same way. Everyone on there vying for attention and a chance. I know people that do use Earbits and RadioAirplay/Jango for their personal listening pleasure. I mean, I put Earbits on as background music. I fan other artists, but rarely am I compelled to stop, drop and buy that single. So I expect the same in return, for my music.
        I think it’s legit, but I agree with your assessment and think it’s a site for people who want to stream music for free. And expecting some kind of big return from that pond is a mistake. Most underestimate how many people are actually listening to terrestrial radio. It’s a monstrous number that provides a smaller number of sales to listeners -and consider the number of repeat listens, ratio-wise.
        So thank you replying and adding to the blog.

    • rick
      December 7, 2013 at 1:34 pm

      I wondered Radio Airplay as well……thought they would be legit because I signed up through cdbaby.

  16. December 5, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    Ditto to many above comments. I have sent emails asking if Number1music is real. The day after I sent the email all of a sudden I got more fans signing up. I have sent out bulk emails to the “supposed” fans and got tons of bounced emails stating not deliverable or permanently deleted and a few had just signed up as a “fan.” Definitely a number 1 scam,,,

  17. December 7, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    I did a bit of research in Jango/RadioAirplay as I too, linked from CDBaby and followed some of my ‘fans’ to facebook. They had legit pages with content and seemed to like music overall – since they had the usual fanstuff on their walls. They looked normal so I felt like it was legit. Plus you can always watch your traffic live and communicate with your listeners via instant text. So unless there’s compelling evidence otherwise, I’d say RadioAirplay is legitimate. And I’ve contacted them for tech support and they seem on the up and up.

    I use Earbits too and the only thing you have to be careful about these radio stations is translating ‘fans’ and ‘Likes’ into direct sales. When I’m on the computer, I’ll put earbits on in the background and just listen to the stations. If there’s a song I like, I usually click the Like button and sometimes like the band’s page on facebook. Rarely would I join a mailing list or go to their BUY page and spend any money. I’m not that kind of fan. Clicking is more of an appreciation thing.

  18. December 12, 2013 at 9:44 am

    Thank you for your information. It was very helpful. I started to wonder about the fans I was getting. James Emerich

  19. Anonymous
    December 22, 2013 at 12:06 am

    All these sites are the same, what your paying for is promotion and your gonna spend money to get the word out. Age and experiance will teach you that. Everyone wants money and has to figure out how to get it. Just watch out for the tricks and the rest is easy. Make the best music you can and don’t get hung up on yourself for being to wise. Everything cost money unless your playing to a wheat field in Nebraska.

  20. December 22, 2013 at 5:11 am

    I have got the very same odd emails. It would be too good to be true. Thanks for your great article !!!

  21. December 27, 2013 at 1:09 am

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! Our free trial is about to end for Number One Music and we were debating on whether or not to pay for the full membership but something didn’t feel right. The fan mail seems too good to be true and you are correct does stroke your ego! But you can never discount common sense or the feeling you get when something feels to good to be true. Thanks again!

  22. Sam Houston
    January 3, 2014 at 11:36 am

    Well I’m in on this too. I’m a member of N1M. But, I haven’t given them any money nor do I intend to. I just have the free account which only allows three song uploads. But I get MANY mailing list sign ups daily. Plus, just today, I got an email from a guy saying how talented I was and that 2014 holds a lot of good things for me. Well, that’s great. But I’ve been making music, recording, and doing live shows for most of my life so don’t bullshit me. I guess when some people get their ego stroked they think they’re somebody. But anybody that’s been in the music business long enough knows that the ONLY reason people stroke your ego is because they think they can get something from you. VERY few people in the music business are sincere about anything they say. All they see are dollar signs. But I too have been suspicious of N1M. Too many plays too soon, too many mailing list joiners too soon, and no promo done that I know of. I don’t even really understand how the site works. But I only have the free three song account and have absolutely no intention of paying them any money ever. But the other thing that concerns me is that my songs on there are my songs that I’ve written and recorded. If the site is indeed a scam, what are the chances of my songs being in any kind of jeopardy??

    • January 3, 2014 at 3:04 pm

      I’d say none. There’s no one listening to them on that site. I figure it’s as safe as if it was sitting on Myspace.
      What would they possibly do with your music?

  23. January 4, 2014 at 2:56 am

    I suspected as much. Just recently activated a free account and I noticed a huge increase of plays, but no analytics to trace the source of traffic (always a sure sign of faked traffic). Only been involved a day as of this post. I was not surprised when I found this blog which validated my suspicions.

  24. Rosy
    January 4, 2014 at 3:40 am

    This is definitely one of the best things about the internet- being able to search for reviews about possible scams! It is really sad that we work so hard on our talent and passion, but have to deal with so many unscrupulous people just waiting to take advantage of our business needs. I have been ripped off plenty of times and am tired of it, so I am finally learning my lesson about not jumping into things without a little due diligence research wise. But I do need help with promotion and getting my music out there to possible supporters/fans. So where do we go if we want to invest in ourselves by hiring real promotion (at different budget levels, so we can still afford something even on a small budget)?

    This blog was amazing by the way! I just received a message about number one music on my reverbnation too!

  25. January 7, 2014 at 11:44 pm

    Darn, I thought we had some really good material due to the massive amount of fans. On the bright side we didn’t pay them a cent. LOL

  26. January 9, 2014 at 4:46 am

    GLAD TO KNOW. Ugh… but other than that I still get compliments from word of mouth and my other REAL media sites. It did feel good at the moment haha. Also I had a feeling it was a scam look at the votes of people who have 500k+ views… they have no more than 20 votes.

  27. Smartmellow
    January 11, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    i guess these ‘fans’ are buddies to capture potential clients. Too suspicious is the immediate global distribution. Clever dirty computer & business guys playing out the ego of hardwarking and passionate artists. Another experience with the bad boys.

  28. Alex
    January 12, 2014 at 1:37 pm

    Yup, what a big bullshit, too awesome to be true. I didn’t spend any cent on it but it makes you belive at the beginning. Have anybody sent an email to reverbnation? since they are using it as a channel to get us into the scam. At least they should check a list of the people that are inviting us to N1M and block them some how. Good luck to everyone in their projects, just keep fighting.

    • January 12, 2014 at 8:29 pm

      Yes, posted it on Reverbnations Facebook page.

  29. Sam Houston
    January 13, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    What about “http://www.newmusiclabel.com/user_list.asp?search_id=712″ New Music Label? It looks suspiciously similar to N1M. Does anybody know anything about this one?

  30. Anonymous
    January 17, 2014 at 9:41 am

    Thank you SO SO much for this blog! It has saved me a lot of heart ache and pain. And yeah, it’s a bit of a kick in the nuts, but hey ho….at least it was nipped in the bud.

    No point getting into my experienced because it’s echoed above. I got this email today from some random fan telling me that my song was their “anthem for the day”. Just total BS and I replied thanking them; but it bounced. I’ve only been with them 3 weeks and haven’t paid a penny, so all is good there – but it seemed a bit fishy and too good to be true.

    So yeah…onward and upward musicians! Stay strong!

  31. Sean
    February 20, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    This was VERY helpful and I cannot thank you enough for sharing your wisdom…I want to know, Am I In danger of any potential identity theft or bank fraud or hacking from numberone music???? I’ve been using it for a couple months now and am deleting account today!!!

  32. March 1, 2014 at 10:44 am

    Awesome post and much appreciated. Confirming my suspicions, I went in to delete the account, but found, as before, that any source of information is a time vampire leading nowhere.

    So I used my bio to report the scam on my front page. …”This site will give bogus fans, hoping you’ll pay for a membership.”

    Probably worthless but…

  33. March 2, 2014 at 5:37 pm

    thanks for the blog and many comments about N1M… i’ve first joined them last fall, for free and then as a paid member so i could post more songs. just today i received an email telling me one of my songs is #1 on the US alternative and folk charts, and several others are charting up there too. i checked into their charts and there i am. yet i have no idea why, since i haven’t been promoting these songs. i have exported the many N1M fan addresses so will try to see where an emailing to them leads, but i suspect mostly to non-existent accounts per the above comments.
    so i plan to discontinue my N!M account and save future pennies. if anyone knows of more legitimate sites for fanbase building, please post. i already use Broadjam and an on Reverbnation. thanks all for a good discussion.

  34. March 3, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    great post! I got the email on reverbnation recently and signed up for the free trial on N1M. I am getting a suspiciously large amount of fans from that sight. Interestingly, I have added them to my mailing list, and have not received any bounce backs, and in fact had a few actually follow a link in the email I sent to my nimbit.com site and download a free track I was offering. But I am still very wary of actually signing up. I will see wait and see if any of the new “fans” actually remain in existence after the trial period.

  35. March 29, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    I am a paid member…oddly enough…after reading these posts… there page can’t be displayed…hmmm???

  36. Kim Kondrashoff
    March 29, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    I maybe a victim…any new info. on them?

    • EJ Walker
      March 31, 2014 at 1:13 am

      I did the free trial. Paid for another month, and I too cannot get on the site now. It just says page cannot be displayed.

  37. March 30, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    Hi, Is there a phone number, I can reach you at so I may speak with you further on this and talk about possible legal actions, even if it is the removal of the site? My email is hsu@hypostaticunion1996.com . Thanks….. Doc

  38. March 30, 2014 at 8:25 pm

    I also signed up for the mailing list to see if the emails from the mailing list were even going out, and I never received the email from the twice a month e letter your allowed to send. Why wasn’t the email sent to me. I paid for the 15$ a month and have the list. Sent the email out and nope, nothing to me. I’m canceling and looking elsewhere!!!!!!

  39. March 31, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    since i already paid in advance for a year, i still “work” my N1M site…

    2x/month, i send out emails to all my N1M “fans” and, although i get a few complimentary emails back each time, none of these “new fans” has ever “liked” my FB artist page, “fan’d” me on Reverbnation, nor subscribed to my YouTube channel (i always ask them to do so). i continue to have several songs charting well on N1M, and usually this is traceable to simultaneous promotions i’m running via other methods. so it does seem like someone at NIM is paying attention, somewhere, and manipulating their data…

    i plan to stay connected to this discussion thread until my pro membership runs out later this year… my advice for now: use N1M for “free” only, do more homework before spending a nickel with anyone… AC

  40. April 7, 2014 at 10:56 pm

    Agreed..i have had the same experience…but when I ask about a specific fan, like “who exactly are you, where do you live, how did you find my music on this site, what is your last name?” – no response. Felt scammy. Then after N1M sends me alot of follow-up ‘hey, keep in touch with your fans, they haven’t heard from you in awhile’, and i did just that to see what would happen, suddenly I am asked to upgrade my account AGAIN. Scammy…

  41. April 23, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    1700 fictitious fans along with fictitious over the top compliments…& oddly enough when I sent out emails to each & everyone of my supposed fans…all I got was fake email addresses, deactivated emails… & not 1 single reply…I thought ” There’s something rotten in the State Of Number One Music…” Steer Clear!!!…They are somewhere in Russia…with no phone # …the money processing company they use is fastspring…

  42. April 29, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    I sent them some nasty emails in Russian, canceled my subscription & supposedly I will be getting back a full refund according to ” Fastspring,” their money processor…now it’s wait & see regarding the total refund…

    • April 30, 2014 at 10:54 am

      alas Kim, i’m still waiting on my refund… ;-(

      • May 2, 2014 at 2:20 pm

        Hi Annie, I just received a 3rd of a it… I was in formed by ” Fastspring ” I should be getting the balance of my refund by the end of the month…have you got yours yet?…If you haven’t contact Beth at ”Fastspring ”…Good Luck!

  43. Anonymous
    May 29, 2014 at 9:50 am

    Reverbnation should stop letting them post on their site, it kindda makes them look bad.

  44. May 30, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    Agreed!

  45. Paul
    May 30, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    I can’t believe it! I was genuinely excited about the comments from ‘real’ targeted fans, i even replied thanking them individually. Up until one of the emails (that i responded to 2 minutes after having received it) bounced back as a cancelled account. Today was the day i’d reached the end of my trial and was going to start paying my monthly dues. Thank go i found this out now! They conned me through a Reverbnation message also.

  46. ericthegreen
    June 1, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    I’m gonna post a link to this article to all musicians I know.If we all do that…well, lets take em out of business!! I so hate this shit!!

  47. Kris
    June 15, 2014 at 12:34 am

    Thank u for the alert because I just got an email from N1M and said they can’t wait to buy one of my songs on iTunes or CDBaby. I only signed up for emails from N1M and never paid anything nor did I sign up for any trial period.

    • Anonymous
      June 15, 2014 at 12:08 pm

      @ Eric & Kris good on both of you!

  48. peterpianist
    June 16, 2014 at 5:45 am

    Well, well, what a revelation! I have been with numberonemusic for around three weeks and have been on an egotistical high for most of that time – bathing in the wonderfully complimentary emails – on the brink of signing up! You saved me a lot of money. I can’t thank you enough for this blog. All I did to find you was to google ‘nuberonemusic scam’ and what I slightly suspected was revealed to be a complete con!
    Thanks again and keep up the good work.

  49. peterpianist
    June 16, 2014 at 5:50 am

    I agree with ericthegreen: TELL ALL YOUR FRIENDS AND COLLEAGUES ABOUT THE NUMBERONEMUSIC SCAM – PHONE YOUR LOCAL TV, RADIO STATIONS. PHONE NATIONAL TV AND RADIO, WHY NOT?? WE NEED TO NOSEDIVE THESE *******!!

  50. jenifer divine
    June 16, 2014 at 6:36 am

    PS: reverbnation is a scam as well-
    basically almost the same business model as N1M

  51. peterpianist
    June 17, 2014 at 8:46 am

    I don’t agree with you Jennifer, Reverbnation. I use reverb’s music player on my site and it’s great. I don’t however, use them for promotional purposes, but I found you comment interesting.

    • Wolfgang Fahr
      June 17, 2014 at 1:45 pm

      Reverbnation is disappointing to me, as my tra

      2014-06-17 18:12 GMT+02:00 The Dynamic Universe Blog :

      > peterpianist commented: “I don’t agree with you Jennifer, > Reverbnation. I use reverb’s music player on my site and it’s great. I > don’t however, use them for promotional purposes, but I found you comment > interesting.”

    • Wolfgang Fahr
      June 17, 2014 at 1:47 pm

      Reverbnation is disappointing to me, as my tracks usually are of high quality and larger than 8 MB, so they force me to buy space as of the very early beginning.

      Regards, Wolfgang

      2014-06-17 19:45 GMT+02:00 Wolfgang Fahr :

      > Reverbnation is disappointing to me, as my tra > > > 2014-06-17 18:12 GMT+02:00 The Dynamic Universe Blog comment-reply@wordpress.com>: > > peterpianist commented: “I don’t agree with you Jennifer, >> Reverbnation. I use reverb’s music player on my site and it’s great. I >> don’t however, use them for promotional purposes, but I found you comment >> interesting.”

  52. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 1:20 am

    FYI, N1M AKA Number One Music is run by 2 Russian scammers that also run a band called NEXXT. Musicians BEWARE as they will take your money and tell that you are the best thing since sliced bread every step of the way.

    N1M is preying on inpendant musicians just like the major labels!

    F*** numberonemusic.com

    http://skelectory.net/2014/05/23/fuck-numberonemusic-com/

    Number One Music is a scam

    http://dynamicsplus.wordpress.com/2012/03/16/number-one-music-is-a-scam/

    WARNING ALL MUSICIANS… NUMBERONEMUSIC.COM APPEARS TO BE A TOTAL SCAM!

    http://winterjargon.blogspot.co.uk/2013/03/warning-to-musicians-number-one-music.html

    Numberonemusic.com is a scam

    http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/general-metal-discussion/265932-numberonemusic-com-scam.html

    NumberOneMusic.com Review – Open Website Reputation

    http://www.webutations.info/go/review/numberonemusic.com

    Merry Citoli and NUMBER ONE music

    http://www.famewizard.com/merry-citoli-and-number-one-music/

    With a little investigation, we find that one of the highest rated artists on the site is the owner of Number One Music, Dennis Montero.

    “Dennis Montero” is a pretty “unique” name for a Russian guy eh?

    http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/DenisMonteroandtheNexxt

    Location “Russian Federation”

    Dennis has some pretty light activity on Facebook for 77,642 “fans”?

    https://www.facebook.com/denismonterothenexxt

    His MTV Bio confirms Dennis Montero as the co-owner of “the self owned label Number One ENT”

    http://www.mtv.com/artists/nexxt/biography/

    “Number One ENT”

    http://www.numberonemusic.org/

    Dennis Montero’s comments on how so many people have music that is “unique” on Reverb Nation:

    “Hi, I DO like your music and I think it’s really unique not like the other mainstream sounds on the radio & tv today, wish you much success and my respect!”

    Dennis Montero

    http://www.reverbnation.com/confidenz/press/

    “Hi!! I like your voice and music a lot! wish you much success!”

    Dennis Montero – Hi, NumberOneMusic.com

    http://www.reverbnation.com/markkiinotes/press/

    “ “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream music wish you much success.” ”

    Dennis Montero – Number 1 music

    http://www.reverbnation.com/mhberto/press/

    “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream sh*t! wish you much success!”

    Dennis Montero

    http://www.reverbnation.com/Randum45/press/

  53. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 1:45 am

    BTW…

    Mail server of numberonemusic.org based in Russia

    http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=dnsrec&host=numberonemusic.org

    Mail server of numberonemusic.com based in Russia

    http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=dnsrec&host=numberonemusic.com

  54. Zone of Ark
  55. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 5:16 am

    EVERYBODY HELP SHUT THESE FRAUDSTERS DOWN PLEASE!!

    Scammed Spanish person

    El fraude de numberonemusic.com

    http://www.socratesplanet.net/el-fraude-de-numberonemusic-com/

    Scammed Swedish person

    NumberOneMusic.com ?

    http://www.diskantforum.se/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43464

    Place your complaints here:

    Webwiki review page for N1M

    http://www.webwiki.com/numberonemusic.com#commentform

    McAfee Site advisor reviews

    http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/numberonemusic.com

  56. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 5:25 am

    Sorry there’s so much but with this amount of evidence that site should be taken down soon hopefully.

    Enough of preying on the hopes and dreams of musicians who have already been abused and scammed by the music industry for over 75 years.

  57. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 5:29 am

    And for any that had sites removed by these scum when questioning them about their funny business, you should be able to find it here for evidence.

    https://web.archive.org/web/*/http://numberonemusic.com

  58. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 5:54 am

    These 2 Russian scammers are “Dennis Montero” AKA Denis Khorev and Gena Privalov from Vladivostok, Russia as confirmed by their MTV profile

    http://www.mtv.com/artists/nexxt/biography/

    And in case the creeps try to get rid of the evidence by deleting their MTV profile they forgot archive.org… LOL!

    https://web.archive.org/web/20140618093628/http://www.mtv.com/artists/nexxt/biography/

    CD Baby also

    https://web.archive.org/web/20140618094614/http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/DenisMonteroandtheNexxt

    Their Facebook page also lists a “Sergey Taranoff” as well as the two creeps listed above.

    https://www.facebook.com/denismonterothenexxt/info

    It seems that they bounce from web host to web host to avoid getting shut down for good and their site is currently hosted in Clarks Summit PA at VolumeDrive

    http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=express&host=numberonemusic.com

    VolumeDrive
    1143 Northern Blvd
    Clarks Summit, PA
    862-266-1083

  59. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 7:02 am

    Likely the only way to stop these scammers is to get the FBI involved so they can’t get another US web host.

    Else they will have another tomorrow.

  60. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 8:46 am

    “I DO like your music and I think it’s really unique not like the other mainstream sounds on the radio & tv today, wish you much success and my respect! ”

    Dennis Montero

    http://www.reverbnation.com/karolinablue/press/

    “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream sh*t! wish you much success!”

    Dennis Montero – Via Email

    http://www.reverbnation.com/sibeez/press/

    • Kim Kondrashoff
      June 18, 2014 at 2:35 pm

      @ Zone of Ark…thank you for your postings…I sent N1M numerous nasty emails in Russian & I also contacted a Beth at ”FastSpring”…their money processor..presenting her with evidence of fraud…long & short…I got a total refund.

  61. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 5:40 pm

    Good news!

    I think refunds are great but at this point we need to band together to get this info to every person that N1M has ripped off and get their site shut down forever!

  62. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 5:57 pm

    Go here for FULL refunds!

    https://fastspringsoftware.com/

    Or email:
    cc@fastspring.com

  63. Zone of Ark
    June 18, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    Being that they hold so much copyrighted material hostage with this scam, I wonder if a DMCA takedown would be a solution?

  64. Kim Kondrashoff
    June 19, 2014 at 8:10 pm

    I posted all your links..every possible place…that I could think of re: these crooks

    Any solution would be fine me to see them taken down!.

    • Kim Kondrashoff
      June 19, 2014 at 8:12 pm

      Any solution would be fine by me to see them taken down!.

  65. Zone of Ark
    June 20, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    Here are all the fake RN comments I could find also:

    “Dennis Montero”’s fraud comments about how so many people have music that is “unique” on Reverb Nation:

    “Hi, I DO like your music and I think it’s really unique not like the other mainstream sounds on the radio & tv today, wish you much success and my respect!”

    Dennis Montero

    http://www.reverbnation.com/confidenz/press/

    “Hi!! I like your voice and music a lot! wish you much success!”

    Dennis Montero – Hi, NumberOneMusic.com

    http://www.reverbnation.com/markkiinotes/press/

    “ “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream music wish you much success.” ”

    Dennis Montero – Number 1 music

    http://www.reverbnation.com/mhberto/press/

    “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream sh*t! wish you much success!”

    Dennis Montero

    http://www.reverbnation.com/Randum45/press/

    “… like your voice and music a lot! wish you much success!”

    Denis Montero – Numberonemusic Fan

    http://www.reverbnation.com/douglasrobinson/press/

    “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream sh*t! wish you much success! Denis”

    Denis Montero – Number One Music

    http://www.reverbnation.com/dagrimmone/press/

    “Hi!! I like your voice and music a lot! wish you much success!”

    Dennis Montero – Hi, NumberOneMusic.com

    http://www.reverbnation.com/markkiinotes/press/

    “Hey! I like your music a lot and I belive it’s unique! wish you much success! Denis”

    dennis montero – email

    http://www.reverbnation.com/kidnappingthedead/press/

    “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream sh*t! wish you much success!”

    Dennis Montero – NumberoneMusic

    http://www.reverbnation.com/marcusrogers/press/

    “Guys!!! I like your music a lot! you’ve got a unique sound and i wish you much success! ”

    Dennis Montero

    http://www.reverbnation.com/vapourtown/press/

    “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream sh*t! wish you much success! Denis Plz listen to our stuff when you have some time and let’s keep in touch. check our n1m profile http://www.numberonemusic.com/nexxt become our friend on myspace http://www.myspace.com/denismontero watch our video for It’s Not A Sacrifice http://www.youtube.com/watch? v=d5q4dPmWbA4 Over half a million views already!”

    Dennis Montero – NumberOneMusic.com Artist

    http://www.reverbnation.com/majistythemastermind/press/

    “I DO like your music and I think it’s really unique not like the other mainstream sounds on the radio & tv today, wish you much success and my respect! ”

    Dennis Montero

    http://www.reverbnation.com/karolinablue/press/

    “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream sh*t! wish you much success!”

    Dennis Montero – Via Email

    http://www.reverbnation.com/sibeez/press/

    “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream sh*t! wish you much success!”

    Dennis Montero via n1m.numberonemusic.org – Fan Comments

    http://www.reverbnation.com/BlacktopMuzikYungRichNFamousEnt/press/

    “Hi, I DO like your music and I think it’s really unique not like the other mainstream sounds on the radio & tv today, wish you much success and my respect!”

    Dennis Montero (Fan)

    http://www.reverbnation.com/jilabee/press/

    “Hi!! I like your voice and music a lot! wish you much success!”

    Dennis Montero

    http://www.reverbnation.com/mhartofficial/press/

    “Hi, I like your music and I think it’s unique not like the other mainstream sh*t! wish you much success! Denis”

    Dennis Montero – numberonemusic.com

  66. Zone of Ark
    June 21, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    The morphing of Denis or Dennis Montero to Denis Khorev and back again:

    Denis Montero “self owned label Number One ENT”

    http://www.mtv.com/artists/nexxt/biography/

    Denis Khorev “FounderNumberOneMusic Inc”

    http://www.zoominfo.com/p/Denis-Khorev/921022643

    DM (Hiding something Denis?)

    http://www.numberonemusic.com/nexxt/

    https://web.archive.org/web/20140327004248*/http://numberonemusic.com/nexxt/

    Denis Montero

    http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/DenisMonteroandtheNexxt

    https://web.archive.org/web/20140618094614/http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/DenisMonteroandtheNexxt

    Location “Russian Federation”

    Denis Montero

    https://www.facebook.com/denismonterothenexxt/

    Denis Montero

    https://myspace.com/denismontero

    https://web.archive.org/web/20130627070237*/https://myspace.com/denismontero

    Denis Montero

    https://twitter.com/DenisMontero888

    https://web.archive.org/web/*/https://twitter.com/DenisMontero888

    Denis Montero

    http://www.denismontero.com

    https://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.denismontero.com

    “Hey I became totally addicted to your tune Sunshine Or Rain since I got the first promo alert from numberonemusic.com to visit your page, I want to download this one to my collection which I’m playing while driving in my car through traffic jams. Please send me a direct link to buy this tune from itunes or cdbaby. Let me know, I just can’t wait to buy it. –”

    Denis Khorev – N1Music.com

    http://www.reverbnation.com/lorencemichaels/press/

    “Hey I became totally addicted to your tune NO PAIN.I want to download this one to my collection which I’m playing while driving in my car through traffic jams….”

    Denis Khorev – Numberone music fan

    “… like your voice and music a lot! wish you much success!”

    Denis Montero – Numberonemusic Fan

    http://www.reverbnation.com/douglasrobinson/press/

    “Hey I became totally addicted to your tune Rain and Thunder since I got the first promo alert to visit your page. I want to download this one to my collection I’m playing while driving through traffic jams. Please send me a link to buy it. Let me know, I just can’t wait.”

    Denis Khorev – Fan Mail

    “I DO like your music and I think it’s really unique, not like the other mainstream sounds on the radio & TV today. Wish you much success and my respect!”

    Denis Montero – Fan Mail

    http://www.reverbnation.com/138kings/press/

    “Hi! I became absolutely addicted to your tune Obey since my first visit to your n1m music, I want to download this one to my collection which I’m playing while driving in my car through traffic jams. Please send me a direct link to buy it from itunes or cdbaby. Let me know, I just can’t wait to add it to my playlist! Happy Holidays! –”

    Denis Khorev ( Fan) – Number one Music website

    http://www.reverbnation.com/angelsessions/press/

    “Hi! I became absolutely addicted to your tune Bacon & Eggs since my first visit to your n1m music page, I want to download this one to my collection which I’m playing while driving in my car through traffic jams. Please send me a direct link to buy it from itunes or cdbaby. Let me know, I just can’t wait to add it to my playlist! Happy Holidays! — Denis Khorev”

    Denis Khorev – N1M Music Fan

    http://www.reverbnation.com/leroybo/press/

  67. Zone of Ark
    June 22, 2014 at 3:10 pm
  68. Zone of Ark
    June 22, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    OK… here we go…

    http://reverseip.domaintools.com/search/?q=numberonemusic.com

    http://reversens.domaintools.com/search/?q=n1m.org

    1. musicexposure.org

    2. n1m.org

    3. numberonemusic.com

    AND it says there are 3 other domains connected to this name server for a total of 6!

    Also, it looks like they are bouncing IP’s all over the world, Panama, Russia and who knows where else?!

    http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=express&host=numberonemusic.com

    192.69.94.154 clwjl.wildofthepower.com

    wildofthepower.com is in Panama! I thought it was Clarks Summit PA?

    http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=express&host=wildofthepower.com

    More detectives wanted!

    http://malwaretips.com/threads/reverse-ip-lookup-all-websites-hosted-on-the-same-ip-address.19799/

    http://push2check.net/numberonemusic.com

  69. June 23, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    It all looks like a whole bunch of losers here! I do represent The Nexxt band which has been enlightened here as a scam associated act. YOU, Yes You ‘Zone of Ark’ should be treated as panic annoying person – briefly (a loser) who are trying to discredit the names over the internet. We’ve been in top 20 MTV USA, Canada in 2004 for several weeks and we’ve spent already more than 8 years with N1M platform which is working great for us by gaining many fans all over the world http://numberonemusic.com/nexxt/
    There are hundreds of thousands bands on n1m which are satisfied. You said that you got your refund, so why do you pretend scammed? They did not run away with your money and i think it’s fair that you get your refund when you’re not satisfied. You can find scam reports for any business out there which is connected to millions of users, for ex. try to google for Reverbnation scam. Ok I’m done here, but you should be punished & charged in first place for discrediting our band name here!

    • June 23, 2014 at 9:02 pm

      Ah bullshit….this is a scam loser….

  70. Zone of Ark
    June 24, 2014 at 2:04 am

    You know what I think “Denis”

    I think you and your band Nexxt got screwed by the music business and you decided to get revenge by doing the same thing to others.

    Very uncool. And criminal to boot.

    The evidence speaks for itself.

  71. Zone of Ark
    June 24, 2014 at 2:19 am

    But nobody here is trying to discredit your band Nexxt. Actually the song and video are really good. Too bad it didn’t go further.

    The main issue for everyone here is your company “N1M” is using bots for fake plays and sending fake copy paste fan emails to falsely inflate peoples egos so they keep coming back to part with their money when none of the “fans” are real and NEVER buy a thing from artists at N1M OR answer any of the email sent to them.

    Its a scam from top to bottom.

  72. Kim Kondrashoff
    June 24, 2014 at 2:46 am

    Hey Denis…it was me..who got the refund ( I had to hound ”Fastspring” endlessly to get my money back)…after sending ”Fastspring” countless emails…in regards to NM1 music & the ”supposed” countless plays I had…the ”supposed” 1700 fan base I ”supposedly” built up…the personal emails I got from many of these ”supposed” fans basically saying my music was the greatest thing they ever heard…the problem was when I sent out emails to each & every one of my ”supposed” fans…all 1700 of them……( I did this numerous times! ) many of the emails bounced back saying…”deactivated”…”not valid email”… & not 1 response did I get with the ones that went through…not one response! Even with all the ”personal emails” I got from my ”supposed” fans that said my music was the greatest thing they ever heard! Not 1 response!…Not 1! I even tracked down some of these ”supposed” fans on F.B.& their the pages said ”no activity”…I sent them messages anyway…nothing…Rick said it all in 8 words…

    • Annie
      July 15, 2014 at 1:05 pm

      i just got a very speedy refund for N1M thru Fastspring. no questions asked. i guess all of Kim’s hard work and persistence paid off. Thank you, Kim!

      • Anonymous
        July 15, 2014 at 1:32 pm

        Your welcome Annie! Please inform other singer songwriters about N1M…hopefully if the word gets out enough…they’ll be put out of business! All the best with your musical endeavours!

  73. Kim Kondrashoff
    June 24, 2014 at 4:05 am

    With special thanks to all of Zone of Ark’s detective work & ( I am taking liberty…) from the whole bunch losers here… ( myself included…)

    пора вы закрыли магазин

  74. Zone of Ark
    June 24, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    And the real sad thing here is if the music industry didn’t screw Denis and his band Nexxt, this post wouldn’t exist.

    Denis and others like him were “made” by a corrupt industry that has been preying on the hard work of artists for 75 years.

    Thanks to the internet, their grip is finally being broken on our work but we need to be careful not to get scammed by the scammed.

  75. July 15, 2014 at 9:45 am

    Wow thank you. I recently signed up for a free trial but I did think it was odd that 138 fans appeared so quickly…I’ve just sent them an email but I won’t be bothering with them.

  76. July 20, 2014 at 3:52 am

    I read lots of Blogs and comments about N1M being a scam, but felt I should, perhaps, give N1M the benefit of the doubt. So to prove to myself what the actual situation was with them, I sent them an email, telling them about the comments, and that I had sent many emails to the subscribers asking them to confirm they were real Non came back. My feeling was that if someone was genuinely interested in your music, they would have replied. N1M sent a reply, blaming all the negative comments on phishing and illegal access to their website by hackers.
    They suggested I go through my subscribers and weed out the fake ones. I asked them how would I recognise a fake subscriber and they did not reply. I then added my son and his email as a subscriber, and asked for confirmation. My son never received any notification from N1M that I had requested confirmation, but N1M listed him as having accepted. So to all those people who knocked N!M as a scam, you were and are correct

  77. Anonymous
    October 6, 2014 at 12:24 pm

    I immediately noticed something was wrong with the email responses when we were receiving them. The guitarist for my band signed us up for Number 1 Music just like we’ve signed up for a dozen sites, through a message received on Reverbnation. Nothing in it seemed to make sense, and nothing added up. It was especially fishy when people were emailing a metal band saying how much the music “touched their heart.” Not that metal can’t do just that, but it’s not really what we’re about.
    The messages felt really good at first, but the truth is there is no instant ticket to success. There is no golden website with millions and millions of loyal subscribers who listen to all different types of music and spread the word, so do not trust this sham of a website.

  78. October 6, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    Wow, this sucks…… I am just now reading this and have had my music on N1M for at least a year…. it seemed like such a well-designed site….. oh well

  79. October 28, 2014 at 11:18 pm

    Thanks for the helpful article! I have not elected to purchase anything through them. They keep sending me these emails. All of them saying you’re a legend! You’re voice is amazing! Crazy! They should be shut down!

  1. April 17, 2014 at 1:25 pm
  2. May 23, 2014 at 10:03 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

