Domino Grey X Donna S FM in Blue Radio Daze

Album Cover Domino Grey featuring Donna S FM in Blue Radio Daze

Music producer Domino Grey and the multi-instrument musician Donna S return with the album FM in Blue: Radio Daze. The first offering in this new series delivers music that reaches across many genres and styles. The sound is as dynamic and animated as their avatars, a visual representation that spans all ages and matches their moody and melodic meanderings. It’s beautiful beats behind soulful and sultry saxophone solos.

Domino Grey, Producer:

I guess the Radio Daze story could start with Dream Field. I was at a beach party watching Donna S perform with a band and I thought, ” Man, I would love to make something with her.” I sent her some of my electronic music and Fallout Shelter beats and asked her if she wanted to jam over them. Our first record came out on Domino Grey: Back in the Black. “Melody Diagnosis” was really a standout and we both knew that we had done something special there.

I had good success behind the Butterfly Affect series so that was another project she was able to feature on. So now, I have Donna really groovin over my electronic stuff and doing great work over the beats. Fallout Shelter is the title I release all my instrumentals under. I did a series called Elevator Music and that lo-fi Hip Hop vibe was a perfect fit for Donna’s sax play.

Dream Field is a real retro thing. I wanted to evoke those old 70s albums with those idyllic album covers. I mean, some of those records are from my earliest days making music. So for me, it was a real trip hearing those super-old beats in a fresh context. We’re talking music from the early 90s coming out in 2015. Although it wasn’t from the 70s, it hit a heavy old-school nerve with me. We recorded Dream Field in my home studio, the Fallout Shelter, on Long Island, New York.

Donna S moved to California some years ago, so we stayed in light contact and would always talk about someday doing another Dream field. She wanted to work on Lo-Fi material, but at the time I was working on comic art, teaching CGI storytelling and producing rap records. I wasn’t even sure how we could get the synergy back long-distance. We Zoomed it up a few times, jammed live and worked out some ideas. Then I’d send her tracks to see what she’s feeling. She’d send back sketches or full-length performances. From there, it’s just producer stuff and arranging and mixing and finishing the compositions.

We spent some time working out the name for the project. We both kinda accepted that any kind of ‘Dream Field II’ didn’t make sonic sense. This project don’t sound like that. I told her I wanted a color and that’s all I got. ha! The FM in Blue: Radio Daze is a nod to my childhood experiences with listening to music on my parents home stereo system- and my early production being so sample-based and recording-sourced.

We finished the album at the end of 2023 and I used Daz Studio to create our avatars for the album artwork. And, we just finished combining all of the music videos into one long mix. You can listen to the entire album as a string of visual stories. I do think this is some of my best work and we are very proud of this album. I hope you enjoy it was much as we did making it. Thank you for all your support.

Our music is available for purchase and streaming wherever fine digital music is sold. Thank you for your support.

Links to link with Domino Grey https://linktr.ee/thedynamicuniverse

Links to link with Donna S https://linktr.ee/DonnaSchwartzMusic

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment