Home > Dynamics Plus - artist, Rocket Science the Album, Track Spotlight, Video Launches > New video Dynamics Plus “Gear Lust”

New video Dynamics Plus “Gear Lust”

Gear Lust:

To have an intense desire for equipment,

usually beyond any logical need of the musician.

 

 

Let’s face it, I spend an inordinate amount of time at Sam Ash. Let’s rewind. It was years ago, but still feels like yesterday. I am circling the keyboard area and waiting for the pro audio rep to be free. He tells me hold on a second as he finishes up with the previous customer. See, I have a wad of cash in an envelope, in my pocket and I know this is a pivotal moment. Up till then, I’ve been using an old AKAI S- series sampler and now I’m about to buy a brand new Ensoniq ASR-10. It’s a workstation sampler and in my mind, the purchase represents crossing a line that now means I’m serious. Yes, that’s the “big box carried out” , but if you know the ASR-10, you aint carrying that thing under one arm like I am in the video.

 

Over the years, I’ve met many friends and musicians at Sam Ash. From producer Nate Tinsley to Jen to Anthony Michael Angelo, who plays guitar on “Dash the Cloud”. Sam Ash is an incredible place to meet, greet, jam and of course buy gear. So it only made sense to ask Sam Ash (Huntington) to sponsor my video for “Gear Lust”. A super thank you for supporting Dynamics Plus and his Rocket Science album. Of course Jen does a cameo along with David Weintraub from the bands Terra Stigma and Olive Drabs. Thanks, although he had a little too much fun cutting up my credit card.

Enjoy the video.

 

GEAR LUST

 

I’m at Sam Ash, a credit card in a flash

a Little stash of spending cash soon as the salesman asks.

ASR in my grasp, I cashed out, did the dash

ran out , credit maxed out, big box carried out.

First beat blacked out and since seen the seeds sown

I’d seek to own a whole studio and

compose in a grove where fungus grows

and go all out in my Fallout where

time goes in reverse. I’m so immersed in a verse

and reawakened to when first taken by the Gear Lust thirst

 

And then the MPC became the MCP

Master Control Program over quantized beats

Dispatch EMTs this patch bay EMP

Radioactive fallout rays irradiate Rom Tray

It’s the space knight Rom-pler verse the titan

Triton, astride a tide with his trident: silver surf board

I’m Jean Luc Infected by the Borg.

My foresight affords me more Cause to amplify chords

and multiply Scores. I’m tied to the MicroKorg;

It’s an applied optical force

brought forth from the visors of Geordie LaForge.

less is more, none the less I’m poor,

even when blood

pours from my pores

I’m still at the store with more gear in store.

 

The baby plays in his playpen, the Rob Papen presets

sits and assists in the banks of the A6.

It’s the basics of a spaceship, in an Analog grip.

Equipped with digital chips, conducting experiments

Rocket Science cast-iron Black Lion.

Galaxy Alliance – LFO descends like a UFO

Pro Tools to edit in Audition, extra exhibition.

I’m Roy Orbison with X-Ray vision, visit my Solar System.

I’m a Projector wiz with the AV with the JP and the JD

and the JV all Roland into One Super Friends/ Justice League

Greed’s the engine to feed, plus it’s the rush of the gear lust.

 

On Craigslist I can’t resist the endless list of

equipment and musical instruments.

Told my wife that I need this.

She said “Get your Focusrite

It’s a sounbank that amounts,

a new track to bounce, a few checks bounce,

a new age pronounced, the old sounds drowned out.

Moving the crowd, Removing any doubts

setting up my debit accounts, my debt mounts.

I moved out, first record comes out.

Credit runs out, few fans ran out.

Shout outs, shots rang out.

CD sales count and I surmount.

insert a new serving; this my new album announced.

Rush my Rocket Science – a crush is a crutch,

and hear the bust – down for the count from the Gear Lust

 

 

Chorus

Closed Captioned a bust, so close to the clutch

 

It’s Technique over touch- so close to Gear Lust

 

It’s at most a Rush, a new plug is a plus

 

As it grows so Composed In the throes of the Gear Lust

 

Closed Captioned a bust, so close to the clutch

 

It’s Technique over touch- when so close to Gear Lust

 

 

————-

Rocket Science is out now and available on iTunes and other digital outlets

You can watch the video for the lead single “Phase Shift” on You Tube.

http://www.thedynamicuniverse.com/

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

