Home > Domino Grey - Electronic music, Free Music and Goodies, Random Musings > Technical Tests and Getting it Back Up – Domino Grey @ The Trash bar August 2013

Technical Tests and Getting it Back Up – Domino Grey @ The Trash bar August 2013

 Technical Tests and Getting it Back Up

 Domino Grey @ The Trash Bar, Brooklyn NY August 19th 2013

Domino Grey at The Trash bar

Domino Does Despite…

And so, I was invited by Lev to join the line up at The Trash bar in Brooklyn New York. I performed there before and had a real good time. The last show’s set up was based on two iPads running IK Multimedia’s DJ Rig combined with their iRig MIX as the soundcard, connected to the house system.

IK Multimedia DJ Rig

iPads pad the set up.

Before that, I used a NI’s Traktor Kontrol S2, but never played out with it. I wanted to do more of a live performance showcase and steer away from a traditional DJ set up. My current rig is a touchscreen running Traktor 2.6 combined with The Z1 mixer, F1 and X1 controllers.

Lenovo touchscreen and Native Instruments Kontrollers

Touching set up

After watching Lev, Gem Uriah Star and Born Wreckless perform, I started to set up. No Power! The USB hub (that connects everything!) burned out on stage. Now what? I actually have doubles and redundancy for every part of the show and I keep every kind of adapter and spare bit you can imagine- I even have several versions of the show in case I run into some kind of software–related issue. But this was totally unexpected. The soundman Kam used testers and discovered the hub had melted. Real tight moment. I mean, those controllers are 95% of my show. To his credit, DJ SpacelyRockit [@SpacelyRockit] did tell me to bring an ENTIRE secondary set-up just in case. Well this show was a little more important than most because I was having clips filmed to be used in upcoming videos. Even so, I figured that was paranoid thinking. Ouch. I had two choices; A) Pack up and go home and maybe figure there’s some kind of meaning in this disaster and just prepare better next time or B) Do a scaled down show and stick to blending records and a traditional playlist-driven DJ work. I chose B and see it as the right decision to make, now that I’m looking back.

I ended up performing and started with a traditional DJ set; playing a bunch of my releases and a lot of songs from the recent Butterfly Affects series. For the live work, I ended up running off the tablet’s battery and only using the Z1 mixer. I brought a wireless mouse and keyboard as a worse-case-scenario in case the touchscreen failed and ended up using them to pull off a good portion of my live routine. The crowd enjoyed it and I secured future bookings. All in all, it was a good night and I learned another valuable lesson. A few people said they would have packed up and gone home, but that’s simply not an option. I likened this experience to a boxer getting knocked down for the first time. It’s good for me to know that I can get it back up. Thanks to everyone that came out and supported me.

– Domino Grey

One of the tracks I played from the Butterfly Affect Series Part III: I of the Beholder “Nothing is the Same Without You”

{FREE TO DOWNLOAD FOR A SHORT TIME}

Images from the night

Domino-Grey-Traktor-Side at The Trash bar Domino-Grey-Traktor-Side-01 Domino-Grey-Lenovo Horizon 27" Domino-Grey-Trashbar-side Spacely Rockit Tracks the Traktor Trash-bar-August-19ths-271 Trash-bar-Born-Wreckless Trash-bar-Born-Wreckless-2 Trash-bar-Born-Wreckless-3 Trash-bar-Born-Wreckless-4 Trash-bar-Born-Wreckless-5 Trash-bar-Born-Wreckless-6 Trash-bar-Born-Wreckless-7 Trash-bar-DJs Trash-bar-Gem-Uriah Trash-Bar-Girls-Dancing Trash-bar-Heads Trash-Bar-Jason-Lev-01 Trash-Bar-Jason-Lev-02 Trash-Bar-Jason-Lev-03 Trash-bar-Sign

  1. August 25, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Sucks to see the USB hub die out right before the performance. You def had the crowd dancing and on their feet though. To do all of that by mouse work was incredible. Makes me think of how magical it would of been with the trigger finger.

    Peace

  2. August 27, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    Oh yeah, thanks for that. I put so much prep-time in and was only able to do a portion of what I had planned. Disappointing, but I’m even more amped now for the next set.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

