Home > Domino Grey - Electronic music, for Domino Grey, Interviews and Innerviews, Press and Reviews > Domino Grey interview with JamSphere 20 Questions Deep with Rick Jamm!

Domino Grey interview with JamSphere 20 Questions Deep with Rick Jamm!

Twenty Questions: DOMINO GREY – The Intellectual Electronic Music Artist!

 

Source:  http://jamsphere.com/twentyquestions/twenty-questions-domino-grey-the-intellectual-electronic-music-artist

Domino Grey Electronic Musician

Thinkin…Thinkin….

Electronic Music producer, Domino Grey from New York, has influences that range from HipHop to Deep House. He is part of a group that releases instrumental music under the name Fallout Shelter and producing records as Drew Spence and Dynamics Plus. Recently in an exclusive interview, Domino confirmed that his  prowess and skills are not only confined to keyboards and mixing desks. The man (and artist) comes across as a rational and intelligent being, who completely understands his art and the sacrifices necessary to move within, and more importantly around and outside of its boundaries successfully.

1. How long have you been doing what you’re doing and how did you get started in the first place?

Domino Grey: It’s been a few years now doing electronic music after many years doing Hip Hop and Rap. I think there’s some kind of artistic debt in trying to give the same kinds of experiences with my music that I had, when I was younger. I want to recreate what I felt then for someone else.

2. Who were the first influences on your sound and who do you consider the most influential electronic music producer in your genre today?

Domino Grey: Influential for today, I would say Deadmou5 and for dub enthusiasts, Skrillex -more so, for what they have accomplished, than their musical sensibilities overall. I think many artists see them as the end goal for their musical aspirations. It’s a little funny when the kids only look at their last two years in the big spotlight and think that’s all there is to it. So easy. Those are developed artists with long histories and are not overnight success stories. I tend to be inspired by ideas and not sounds or production techniques.

3. Do you remember the first piece of software or equipment that you actually purchased, for your productions, with your own money?

Domino Grey: First, I’m not so sure of, but most significant would be the Ensoniq ASR0-10 sampling keyboard. I bought it brand new from Sam Ash for over 2 grand, at a time when you didn’t know who else was using it besides yourself. There wasn’t a fantasy in my head like if I get this, I’ll be just like so and so. It was all about what it could do for me. When I forked over the money I thought “Okay, now you’d better be serious about this.”
READ MORE

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

