Home > Domino Grey - Electronic music, Interviews and Innerviews > ministori Blog interviews DJ MIKI from Domino Grey’s Back in the Black

ministori Blog interviews DJ MIKI from Domino Grey’s Back in the Black

http://ministori.wordpress.com/2011/09/13/dj-miki/

♡ ✖ Beat

Welcome to the second installment in our series of interviews covering Domino Grey’s sophomore effort, Back in the Black. This time around I’m pleased to introduce my readers to Vancouver’s own DJ MIKI (DJ Miki, dj miki . . . Sorry, I’ve seen it depicted quite a few ways) ↓

She’s featured on track 8 “My Heart Never Skips a Beat” which was so well received it spawned its own EP which is already available on CDbaby and iTunes. After checking out her SoundCloud page I was definitely impressed with her numerous features and original compositions (Especially her Progressive House works, check them out!). I’m sure you’ll be equally intrigued after reading this ↓

ministori: Please tell us a little about your musical path and the creative process behind your songs.

DJ MIKI: Before I write my own music, I need to sit down and listen to some of my favorite artists and inspire from them. Nowadays, we all have sources where we inspire from. Sometimes, I even inspire from movies.

When I watch a really moving scene, I think about what kind of melody would suit the scene and I play it in my head. I also need to visualize when I am writing otherwise it doesn’t make sense when it’s all words on paper. My imagination is another source of inspiration when nothing else works. Music is very much like story telling and you always need a source of inspiration to tell a story. This is my thinking process. I have to have a story to tell my audience, otherwise I won’t feel like my music is getting anywhere.

ministori: There have been a myriad of DJ/Producers within the EDM scene, but very few DJ/Vocalist. How has the dynamic of being a DJ/Vocalist affected your song writing process?

DJ MIKI: To be a DJ, you really have to be willing to share your passion for music with the world. There are very few DJs out there who can be really versatile (producing music, who can do vocals, etc). I really wanted to stand out and be very versatile and use my talents. Being a DJ helps with my song writing process because the music I listen to and play in clubs give me inspiration to create music. I really love music that has emotional vibes. Music shouldn’t just make people dance but it should make people feel emotions.

ministori: Your vocals are featured on the song, “My Heart Never Skips a Beat”. Was there something specific going on in your life that caused you to create such an emotive song?

DJ Miki: I want my music to convey real emotions and feelings that my listeners can relate to and that is what I did with this song. This song is about having lost connection with someone I really cared and loved. But the connection was impossible to find due to some circumstances that got in the way. “My heart never skips a beat” is repeated a lot throughout the song, I wanted this line to signify that I haven’t lost hope yet and still wanted to find that connection with the person I was very fond of.

ministori: What else can you tell about DJ MIKI and what are your plans for the near future?

DJ MIKI: My Dj name is actually my nickname. That’s where it originated from. My passion for electronic music started in the late 90′s, and I was (and still is) a huge fan of Kylie Minogue. The musical talent and interest has always been there, as I went to music school when I was

12 years old, and I was playing the keyboard, piano and synth. I also went to dance and acting school for a couple of years, following Bachelors in Fine Arts in Theatre & Film Production at the University of British Columbia.  My plans for the near future are to create my own record label in the future and become a music producer. I really love the idea behind creating, arranging music, and working with a creative and talented team to make a masterpiece.

ministori: All the best with your future aspirations, Miki. Creating a label is huge! Can’t wait to hear where your skill and creativity take you.

→ To purchase more of Domino Grey’s music check out his iTunes page, thedynamicuniverse, or cdbaby for the physical release. Stay tuned for up coming interviews with the female vocal and musical talent of  the album! ↓

READ Part I with Domino Grey

READ Part III With Melody Diagnosis player Donna Schwartz

Leave a Reply

