Home > Domino Grey, Interviews and Innerviews > miniStori Blogsite launches a series on the Domino Grey album Back in the Black

miniStori Blogsite launches a series on the Domino Grey album Back in the Black

Domino Grey series on the MiniStori Blogsite  http://ministori.wordpress.com/2011/09/11/grey-days/

There’s a huge series starting with interviews based on the Back in the Black album.

Here we go….

_____________________

_____________________

It isn’t often that we here at ministori are presented with the opportunity to to cover anything of importance. Luckily for myself (and you all) this just happens to be one of those rare occasions. I recently sat down with prolific artist / producer extraordinaire Domino Grey to discuss the new direction of his latest release, Back in the Black

Image of Producer/Artist Domino Grey

Domino in his Dominion

ministori:  The new album is a different animal than the first. What changed about you and your music between albums?

Domino Grey: I think the feedback from the first album built up my confidence enough to really reach out and work with different artists. I was able to send everyone the first album [Get it Up, Lay it Down] and say “This is what I want to do with you, are you in?” Every artist needs that thing that makes them grow up. I feel like I’ve grown doing this.

ministori: What caused you to grow?

Domino Grey: The realization that sometimes… the person you are is keeping you from becoming the person you want to be. I have all kinds of ideas. Some of them get put in the box of someday. Someday I’ll be ready or someday the timing will be just right or someday… I wake up and see that instead of waiting for the world to become… perfect, I can change, adapt and grow into the kind of person that can do today what I didn’t think I could do yesterday. Shit, I hope that made sense.

ministori: How did you go about picking artist to collaborate with, I’ve noticed they were all of the female variety?

Domino Grey: Oh I heard some comments. When the album artwork was done, a few people said stuff like “Oh I see how you pick artists.” It just so happens that they are all attractive, but to be honest I didn’t know what anyone besides the singers in my circle looked like until the records made the album. They could have been hideous wildebeests and they still would have been featured. For real. Song – wise, I just went with the stuff that I connected with and then whatever fit the album’s tone.

ministori: So I guess this was just a best case scenario situation, lucky you. Moving on, your brand of EDM seems to be an amalgam of various musical influences. Do you feel that such a mixture of genres will be a help or a hindrance in expressing your vision and creating a following?

Domino Grey: So far my mix has worked out. The reviews are really good and people are saying they like songs based in genres that they don’t usually check for. I feel like I live in a mix and singles world so banking it all on an album is somewhat of an old thought. I mean, I put a lot of thought into the order of the songs as I try to create a sort of journey. But so many people say I made my own playlist of your stuff or my iPod is on shuffle or a DJ will say I’m playing XYZ tracks and any kind of continuity is broken anyway.

I mean, for EVERY style I dabble in, people say “You should just make that from now on.” The trick is going to be- to make enough music so that they are satisfied. That’s why this album jumped in track count. That’s also why I started the Elevator Music series. That gives me the freedom to collect a group of similar tracks without confining and defining the musical direction of my Domino Grey work.

ministori: So what about the features on the album, how do they fit into your world?

Domino Grey: Well, I could spell out their general feelings, but maybe it would be best for them to speak their piece in their own words.

ministori: I like that.

Oh yeah, I’m really happy with this album. Stay tuned in; I’ve got a very fresh remix EP based around the track “My Heart Never Skips a Beat” [DJ MIKI]. It’s really sick. So thanks for checking out my music and thanks for the interview.

→ To purchase more of Domino Grey’s music check out his iTunes page, or cdbaby for the physical release. And definitely stay tuned for up coming interviews with the female vocal and musical talent of  the album! ↓

 

Read Part II with DJ MIKI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

